This vacancy is now closed

Spanish Speaking Nanny/Housekeeper Sought for family in Midgham, near Reading - Berkshire

Ref: 498 Date Posted: Monday 07 Jan 2019
LinkedIn ShareShare

A lovely family living in Midgham, near Reading, West Berkshire, RG7 are looking for a fluent Spanish speaking Nanny/Housekeeper to join their family home - this is a live in OR live out role.  You must hold an automatic driving licence (a car can be provided if you do not have one).

Package Offered

  • £230-350net/£242-419 gross per week depending on experience and if you live in or live out.
  • If you live in - Private studio apartment with TV, Wifi, kitchen, bathroom, private entrance, all bills covered
  • If you live in - All food covered by the family. If you live out, food covered when with the family hours.
  • An automatic car will be provided if you do not have your own car, all insurance and petrol covered.  You can also use this car on your days off, but if driving long distances you might be asked to contribute towards some petrol.
  • Full contract/employed by the family.
  • Overtime/hourly rate outside of the set days/times for babysitting.
  • 20 days holiday plus 8 days bank holiday.

Family Background
The family are known extremely well by the agency.  The father is a teacher, and the mother is an entrepreneur and works from home, or takes trips into London.  They have a young boy who is 3.5 years old, active and bright. They have had a nanny for 3.5 years, and their current nanny has decided to go and study full time, so the family are looking for a new, long-term member of the family. The live in a 3 bedroom house (with seperate annex accommodation) in West Berkshire (20 mins to Newbury and 20 mins to Reading, 50 mins to London), in a beautiful part of the world.  It is a semi-remote location, with easy access to the shops, and community, but the property feels like it is in a very private part of the world.  It is accessed only by car.  The father works full time and is busy during term time, and the mother works full time. The son is currently at nursery 4 days a week, and in September he will be attending full time school.  They have two small dogs (fully house trained) who love attention and walks.

Your duties will be split between housekeeping and nanny duties. 

During term time:

Your focus will be on the housekeeping and dog walking when the boy is at nursery/school.  You should have an eye for detail, be happy to undertake hoovering, dusting, mopping, laundry, ironing, changing the beds, cleaning the kitchen and two bathrooms.  It is not a large house, but the family do require things to be clean, tidy and well organised, so as long as you stay on top of the duties, and ensure that the house is clean and tidy, then you can manage your time as you see fit.  Currently the two big cleaning days are Monday and Thursday with tidying and light house management in between.  You'll also be required to drop off the little boy and pick him up from nursery, and then from school (full time) when he starts in September.  When the little boy is home from nursery and school your focus will shift to caring for him, there are lots of lovely activities, farms, indoor play areas, but the key is for him to develop his Spanish, in both speaking, reading and writing.  You should love being with children, and happy to help develop this side of his play and stimulation.  You'll also be required to cook for him, and typically you make some extra food for the mother who is quite often working at home for lunch and dinner.  Simple, healthy, easy Mediterranean food.

During holiday time:

Your duties will shift to being more focused around the little boy – play with his toys, read stories and take him outside to play. He loves nature and playing outside - and has a wonderful imagination.  As the father is a teacher, he is often around during the holidays, so during the days he is around you'll be able to do the house duties as per the term duties, but you'll have support and flexibility with the father or grandparents visiting, so that you can get on with your other duties.  There will be more cooking during the holiday's for the father as he will be home, but the family are very easy going and you'll have plenty of time to complete the daily duties.  When the family go on holiday, you'll be in charge of the house (the duties will reduce), and you'll be caring for the dogs, feeding/walking and keeping the house clean and secure.

The family live in the small village of Midgham, between Reading/Newbury (RG7).  This is either a live in OR live out role.  Either way you should be able to drive (either have your own car) or an automatic car will be provided.  If you live in, the family have a private separate entrance studio apartment (separate to the main house), which you will be living within, this has a double bed, TV, Wifi, kitchen and en suite.    


  • 5 days a week.  Monday- Friday.  With flexibility for babysitting when agreed in advance.
  • Monday - 8am - 6:30pm
  • Tuesday 8am - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday 8am - 6:30pm
  • Thursday 8am - 7:30pm
  • Friday 8am - 6:30pm
  • The family are quite flexible, and particularly during holiday time, if all duties are complete, you can have additional breaks/finish early etc.  


You must speak a good level of English and fluent Spanish (spoken, written and reading) as the little boy is learning both languages.  The parents do not speak Spanish so your English must be good enough to communicate.

Special Skills
You must either have your own car, or have an automatic driving licence for a car to be provided.

Interview/Start date
Interviews starting now.  The family are in no rush but keen to start interviewing and considering options.