Spanish Speaking Full Time Nanny/PA for Family near Thatcham - United Kingdom

Ref: 570 Date Posted: Tuesday 04 Jun 2019
LinkedIn ShareShare

A lovely family living in Midgham, near Newbury, West Berkshire, RG7 are looking for a fluent Spanish speaking Nanny/PA who is child friendly to join their family home - this is a live in OR live out role.  You must hold an automatic driving licence (a car can be provided if you do not have one and you live in).

Package Offered

  • £20,000 - £24,000 gross per year depending on experience and if you decide to live in or live out.
  • If you live in - Private studio apartment with TV, Wifi, kitchen, bathroom, private entrance, all bills covered.  Open to couples/pets
  • An automatic car will be provided if you do not have your own car, all insurance and petrol covered.  You can also use this car on your days off, but if driving long distances you might be asked to contribute towards some petrol.
  • Full contract/employed by the family.
  • 20 days holiday plus 8 days bank holiday.

Family Background

The family are known extremely well by the agency.  The father is a teacher, and the mother is an entrepreneur and works from home, or takes trips into London.  They have a young boy who is almost 4 years old, active and bright. They have had a nanny for 4 years, and their current nanny has decided to return to Spain for a new role. The live in a 3 bedroom house (with seperate annex accommodation) in West Berkshire (20 mins to Newbury and 20 mins to Reading, 50 mins to London), in a beautiful part of the world.  It is a semi-remote location, with easy access to the shops, and community, but the property feels like it is in a very private part of the world.  It is accessed only by car.  The father works full time and is busy during term time, and the mother works full time. The son is currently at nursery 4 days a week, and in September he will be attending full time school.  They have two small dogs (fully house trained) who love attention and walks.


Your duties will be split between nanny duties and assisting the mother with her business admin. 

During term time:

Your focus will be on the PA duties/admin and dog walking when the boy is at nursery/school.  You'll be the personal PA for the mother.  The mother runs a small business, so you'll be working along side her in the business, helping with daily duties in admin, paperwork.  You should be good at both written and spoken English and Spanish, and be comfortable with computers.  When the little boy is home from nursery and school your focus will shift to caring for him, there are lots of lovely activities, farms, indoor play areas, but the key is for him to develop his Spanish, in both speaking, reading and writing.  You should love being with children, and happy to help develop this side of his play and stimulation.  You'll also be required to cook for him, and typically you make some extra food for the mother who is quite often working at home for lunch and dinner.  Simple, healthy, easy Mediterranean food.

During holiday time:

Your duties will shift to being more focused around the little boy – play with his toys, read stories and take him outside to play. He loves nature and playing outside - and has a wonderful imagination.  As the father is a teacher, he is often around during the holidays, so during the days he is around you'll be able to do the house duties as per the term duties, but you'll have support and flexibility with the father or grandparents visiting, so that you can get on with your other duties.  There will be more cooking during the holiday's for the father as he will be home, but the family are very easy going and you'll have plenty of time to complete the daily duties.  When the family go on holiday, you'll be in charge of the house (the duties will reduce), and you'll be caring for the dogs, feeding/walking and keeping the house clean and secure.


The family live in the small village of Midgham, between Reading/Newbury (RG7).  This is either a live in OR live out role.  Either way you should be able to drive (either have your own car) or an automatic car will be provided.  If you live in, the family have a private separate entrance studio apartment (separate to the main house), which you will be living within, this has a double bed, TV, Wifi, kitchen and en suite.    


  • 5 days a week.  Monday- Friday.  With flexibility for babysitting when agreed in advance.
  • Monday - 8am - 6:30pm (During term time you'll work hours of 10am - 9pm on occasional Monday's)
  • Tuesday 8am - 6:30pm
  • Wednesday 8am - 7:30pm
  • Thursday 8am - 7:30pm
  • Friday 8am - 6:30pm
  • The family are quite flexible, and particularly during holiday time, if all duties are complete, you can have additional breaks/finish early etc.  


You must speak a good level of English and fluent Spanish (spoken, written and reading) as the little boy is learning both languages.  The parents do not speak Spanish so your English must be good enough to communicate.

Special Skills

You must either have your own car, or have an automatic driving licence for a car to be provided.

Interview/Start date

ASAP, their current nanny leaves in September, but they are flexible for the nanny to start as early as they wish.