Part Time Housekeeper Sought for Beautiful Property in St John's Wood

LinkedIn ShareShare



A lovely couple and their beloved pet dog are looking for a part-time housekeeper to help them clean and manage their 5-bedroom property in St Johns Wood, London, NW8, 5 days per week alongside their other housekeeper. You should be happy to do occasional overnight housesitting and dog sitting when the couple are travelling but these duties will also be shared with the other housekeeper.

Package Offered

  • £16 - £20 gross per hour
  • Monday - Friday, 15 hours per week. Actual hours worked are flexible and can be worked around your other commitments

Family Background

The couple live in a beautiful 5-bedroom house in St Johns Wood, NW8. The house is spread over 3 floors with 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, a gym, a spa and lovely kitchen. One of the bedrooms is used regularly, and then the others are used for the guests when they visit. The family have a medium sized dog who is a much-loved family member. He is strong and can pull when walking, so you should be confident around dogs. The couple do not use bleach in the house and have their own cleaning products which they would like the housekeepers to work with, as they have specific surfaces which need correct care. One member of the couple has a strong allergy to certain products found in hair dye, so they take care not to introduce anything that might cause an allergic reaction into the house.  There is one Vegan in the house, so one prepping board is used specifically for the vegan diet. You will work alongside another part-time housekeeper and share the duties accordingly.  


You will be in charge of all of the housekeeping in the property, along with the other part time housekeeper. You will be responsible for doing all of the laundry and ironing – the couple have a dedicated utility room, with washers and dryers. You should be happy to ensure all the shoes of the couple are clean, this will include: using washing machine with shoes inserted inside laundry bags and using the shoe kit to clean down the shoes prior to putting into the washing machine (to ensure no damage to the washing machine or for shoes which cannot go into the washing machine). If you are comfortable in the kitchen, you may be asked to do light cooking and follow basic recipes – but the couple cook regularly for themselves so it’s not a requirement. You should be happy and experienced in looking after high-end properties with marble and wood. You will be asked to run errands and do shopping for the couple so if you have your own car this is a bonus. 

You should be very pet friendly, comfortable around the dog, and happy to clean the dog bed - the dog is very fluffy so you'd vacuum the bed before cleaning in the washing machine!  The couple use a dry cleaner for the bed sheets and specialist items - you'll be doing drop off and collect with the clothes (one minute walk from the property).

You should be happy to perform light garden work in the garden and courtyard - this would include sweeping of leaves, hosing down/cleaning tiles.  They have a gardener who comes weekly to maintain the space.  

You should be happy to dog sit and be in charge of the security of the household while the couple are away – they would like someone who they can trust to house sit when they are not in residence. When you are house sitting/dog sitting you will have your own private bedroom and bathroom – the couple travel around 4 times a year for 2 or 3 weeks at a time so you should be flexible around their schedule. 

Although the couple are relaxed and informal, they like to have a formal feeling in the staff who work in the home, and a uniform will be provided, this will be bought for the chosen candidate - meaning that you can undertake your duties in comfortable but smart clothing, whilst also protecting your own clothes.


The couple live in St Johns Wood, NW8, so you should be within easy commuting distance. You should be happy to house sit when the couple are away and when you do a private bedroom with your own bathroom will be provided. 


  • Monday – Friday
  • 3 hours per day, 15 hours a week per person
  • House sitting will shift to overnight stays to care for the property and dog, but you’ll still be able to do other part time work outside of the home.
  • The couple are flexible with the working times and are happy to discuss this at interview.  Ideally they would like the visit each day to be between 12-3pm, but can be flexible.
  • You should also be available from July-August next year (2022) for house and dog-sitting.


You must speak a good level of English.  

Special Skills

  • You should be experienced at housekeeping and have an excellent eye for detail
  • You should be confident around dogs

Interview/Start date

The family are looking to start interviewing ASAP. We are recruiting safely within the COVID-19 regulations.

Posted on: 14 December 2021
Live in or Live out
£16 - £20 gross per hour