Part Time Domestic Couple Sought for Family in Bucklebury, West Berkshire

LinkedIn ShareShare

 

 

A British family of four living in Bucklebury, West Berkshire (between Reading and Newbury) are looking for a happy and enthusiastic part-time Domestic Couple to join their family home and life. At least one of you must drive due to the countryside location of the family’s property. A car will be provided for work-related duties but not for personal use, so if you have your own car this would be ideal. 

Package Offered

  • Working 20 hours per week
  • £30,000 gross per year, per person/ £60,000 gross per year for the couple pro rata
  • £285 gross per week per person, plus overtime for any additional hours worked over the 20 hours per week 
  • Separate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished, all bill included
  • Full use of family car for work purposes
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate will be agreed

Family Background
A family of four, mother, father, and two lovely and polite children aged 9 and 12. The family has four dogs (two Labradors and two miniature Dachshunds) and one goldfish. They live in the beautiful countryside of West Berkshire. They lead a busy life, with the father working long hours and the mother at home, but busy with her personal projects. The two children attend a full-time private school. The house has 5 bedrooms and is situated on 7 acres of land (with a large field being part of the acres).  They have a lovely swimming pool which is used by the family and any staff working for the family. The family travel during the school holidays and have a busy social schedule at the weekends.  The family had a domestic couple for the last few years who have become valued members of the family, but due to personal reasons they are re-locating, so the family are on the hunt for a lovely new couple to join them. The property is semi-rural, and there is not easy public transport in walking distance.  There is a village shop (which is accessible by a walk or bike ride). 

Duties
Can be shared accordingly to skills.  But typically, they will be split between the couple. The family are looking for a couple to help both inside and outside the house.

For one person: When the children are at school there will be housework to do - washing, cleaning the house and ironing. The goldfish tank will need cleaning from time to time. If they have friends for dinner which only happens every few months, then there will be tidying up and washing up. There is also babysitting for up to two nights a week which will normally be a Friday or Saturday.

For one person: It is essential that you are a keen and able gardener. This really involves mowing (both push and ride on), pruning, strimming, weeding, watering, lawn repair, planting vegetables outside in the spring and in a greenhouse, mending fences and cleaning the pool and adding chemicals each week in the summer.  They also have a small gecko lizard who needs feeding a few times a week.  The house has an acre garden and has a six-acre field around it. It is also essential that you are a good, confident and experienced driver. Occasionally you may need to drive the children to school. You will be asked to drive to dinners and then pick up after. This will generally be a Friday or a Saturday but rarely both and appropriate notice will be given in advance – you will have use of the family’s car. Finally, there will be walking the dogs on some days, but the countryside is lovely around the family so this will be hopefully a pleasure.

Location/Accommodation
A purpose built separate house in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. Your house in the garden is really lovely and newly built a couple of years ago. The bedroom is big, with a double bed, wardrobe and chest of drawers with a computer, TV and DVD. There is WiFi for the computer. There is a bathroom with bath, shower and loo with basin and a kitchen for cooking. There is a tumble dryer and washing machine. There is a TV and DVD in the sitting room and a microwave, fridge freezer and dishwasher.

Days/Hours
Working a 20-hour week per person.  Two full days off each week which will depend on what needs to be done but will be the same for both of you so you can enjoy time in the countryside together.  

Due to this only being a part-time role, you will have many extra hours to work for other local families, both in gardening and housework.  The family are very well connected and can introduce you to a number of local families who you can work for alongside your main family duties.

The family are very flexible as to when your duties are performed (as long as the main duties are adhered to and family schedule respected).  

Languages
You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.

Special Skills
At least one of you must drive and ideally have your own car due to the countryside location of the property. (the family’s car can be used for work-related duties, but not in your spare time).

Interview/Start date
The family are looking for someone to start immediately - we are recruiting safely within the COVID-19 regulations.

Permanent
Posted on: 19 November 2021
Domestic Couple
£30,000 gross per year, per person/ £60,000 gross per year for the couple pro rata