Live in Housekeeper with Care Duties sought for Family in Cranleigh, Surrey - United Kingdom

Housekeeper
Ref: 276 Date Posted: Tuesday 28 Nov 2017
More

A lovely family with an older father, mother and 11 year old son are looking for a live in housekeeper with some care duties in their large family home in Cranleigh, Surrey.

Background

This is a lovely warm family consisting of the mother, father and their 11 year old son. The father is an older gentleman and has been coping with some health issues. He is not very steady on his feet and has started developing dementia. The mother has been taking on lots of the care but needs someone to be in the house to give her more freedom to spend time with her son going out, and taking care of the household. They have a live in housekeeper now who is moving on so they are looking for the new, right person to join their family. They are a very warm and loving family and are looking for someone who would enjoy being part of the family.

Duties

You will be responsible for all housekeeping, keeping the house clean and tidy, as well as laundry and ironing, and some cooking. Besides that you should be able and willing to help the father as he needs daily assistance, and keep him company if the mother and son are out. This is not a full care role yet as he still can get around a bit but he does require assistance on a daily basis. Your role will mainly be focused on giving the mother the freedom to go out when she needs to, so the father is not left alone. There might be the occasional time when the mother will go away overnight so you should be ok with being in the house just in case the father needs it. The current housekeeper is very much part of the family and eats most meals with the family, but they are also happy for you to take more privacy in your own accommodation. However they would like you to become part of family life.

Location/Accommodation

The family live in the beautiful village of Cranleigh, Surrey – near Guildford. They live in a converted barn which used to be two separate barns, now linked by the kitchen. You will be given one side of the barn as your own private accommodation, which consist of a separate sitting and dining area, two bedrooms and a bathroom.

Days/Hours

You will be working 5 days a week being flexible with the days. Saturday morning is a must as this is when the mother likes to go to her son’s football games.

Languages

You should speak a good level of English. 

Special Skills

You should have experience as a live in housekeeper and having worked in similar roles with care duties, or having experience with dementia and caring for elderly people. You ideally should be able to drive.

Package Offered
Between £300 - £400 net per week. (£18k £26k annual gross) This included full accommodation and use of a car if needs be.

Interview/Start date

The family is interviewing now and looking for someone to start early January 2018.