Housekeeper Sought for Family of Three near Thatcham

A warm family living near Woolhampton, West Berkshire, RG7 are looking for a full-time housekeeper to join their family.  Due to the location you must drive and have your own car.

Package Offered

  • £25,000 - £30,000 gross per year 
  • 8:30am - 6:30pm, Monday to Friday, with the option to work additional hours (if you wish) for more pay 
  • Full pension and employment with Christmas Bonus
  • Option for live in (private studio apartment with own entrance), but then the salary will adjust as all bills will be included (electricity/water etc).

Family Background
The family are known extremely well by the agency.  The father is a teacher, and the mother is an entrepreneur and works predominantly from home.  They have a young boy who is 8, and he is active and bright. They live in a 3 bedroom house in West Berkshire (20 mins to Newbury and 20 mins to Reading, 50 mins to London), in a beautiful part of the world.  It is a semi-remote location, and it is accessed only by car.  The father works full time and is busy during term time, and the mother works full time. The son is currently at school five days a week.  They have a part-time governess who does specific learning development with the son.  They have five dogs. 

Your duties will be based in-house, with 60% housekeeping, 10% light cooking, 20% dog care and 10% childcare.  Your day will start with a quick tidy-up of the house. You'll then do a full clean of the house, with changing bed linen, laundry and cleaning as required. Many of the days will include dog walking, so you should be confident with dogs (of all sizes) and happy to do lots of walking each day (all year round).  

The afternoon will be split between managing the house, doing additional cleaning, or running errands.  During term time, you'll then prepare dinner for the little boy and collect him from school (five minutes away by car).  You'll bring him home, give him his dinner and keep an eye on him until the parents are home.   You should be able to manage the house, make sure that all the rooms are cleaned and tidy, and help arrange school uniforms etc as needed.  If you enjoy cooking then you can also cook for mum and dad, but this is optional.

When the family travels (for a few weeks each year during school holidays) you'll be expected to live in the property to care for the security and to look after the dogs.  There will be occasional babysitting or additional hours, but this is optional and agreed upon in advance.

You should be organised, adaptive, flexible and kind.  You should be looking for a long-term role and have previous employment with domestic roles.  You should be excellent with dogs, child friendly and have a 'muck-in' attitude.  The family are keen to find someone long-term who can grow with their family for many years. You should be flexible and adaptive and always willing to adjust to family life.

The family live in the small village near Woolhampton, between Reading/Newbury/Basingstoke, RG7.  You should be able to commute easily to the property with your own car if you live out.  If you live in, then a studio annex is provided (all bills included) however this is only suitable for a single person, no dependents or pets.


  • 5 days a week.  Monday- Friday. 8:30am - 6:30pm
  • If you work any additional hours (when agreed in advance) this would be covered as overtime or time off in lieu.
  • When you house sit you will still have your salary paid, and if you cover weekends you'll be paid in addition to this.

You must speak a good level of English.

Special Skills
You must have your own car licence and a car in order to commute to the property each day.

Interview/Start date
The family are interviewing now for the right candidate to start ASAP.  

Posted on: 19 September 2023
£25,000 - £30,000 gross per year