House Person Sought for Country Property in Pangbourne - Berkshire

Ref: 658 Date Posted: Thursday 09 Jan 2020
LinkedIn ShareShare

A British family of four living in Pangbourne West Berkshire, RG7, United Kingdom are looking for a reliable House Person to join their family home and life. You must be able to drive due to the countryside location of the family’s property. A car will be provided for work-related duties but not for personal use, so if you have your own car this would be ideal. 
Package Offered
  • £22,000 - £32,000 gross per year
  • Full employed and tax paid with contract.
  • Separate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished
  • All electricity, council tax bills, water bills, heating and Wi-Fi included.  
  • Full use of family car for work purposes
  • Paid holidays of 4 weeks per year.  
  • Bonuses at employed discretion for good work and commitment
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate will be agreed.
  • Open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pet (but no large dogs or cats), however the work is just for one person.
Family Background
A family of four, mother, father, and two lovely and polite children aged 9 and 12. The family has four dogs (two Labradors and two miniature Dachshunds), two guinea pigs and some fish.  They live in the beautiful countryside of West Berkshire.  They lead a busy life, with the father working long hours and the mother at home, but busy with her personal projects.  The two children attend a full-time private school.  The house has 5 bedrooms and is situated on 9 acres of land (with a large field being part of the acres).  They have a lovely swimming pool which is used by the family and any staff working for the family.  The family travel during the school holidays and have a busy social schedule at the weekends. The property is semi-rural, and there is not easy public transport in walking distance.  There is a village shop (which is accessible by a walk or bike ride). 
Your outdoor duties will involve mowing (both push and ride on), pruning, strimming, weeding, watering, lawn repair, planting vegetables outside in the spring and in a greenhouse, mending fences and cleaning the pool and adding chemicals each week in the summer. There are two Guinea pigs to clean out when needed and two goldfish whose tank will need cleaning from time to time. Four pigmy goats live in the grounds, and they need to be fed and the area swept out regularly.  They also have a small gecko lizard who needs feeding a few times a week.  The house has an acre garden and has a six-acre field around it. It is also essential that you are a good, confident and experienced driver. Occasionally you may need to drive the children to school. You will be asked to drive to dinners and then pick up after. This will generally be a Friday or a Saturday but rarely both and appropriate notice will be given in advance – you will have use of the family’s car. You will be walking the dogs on some days, but the countryside is lovely around the family so this will be hopefully a pleasure. Your Housekeeping duties will include cleaning the house, laundry and ironing. If the family have friends for dinner which only happens every few months, then there will be tidying up and washing up. There is also babysitting for up to two nights a week which will normally be a Friday or Saturday.
The property is in Pangbourne West Berkshire, RG7.  A purpose build separate house in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. Your house in the garden is really lovely and newly built a couple of years ago.  The bedroom is big, with a double bed, wardrobe and chest of drawers with a computer, TV and DVD. There is WiFi for the computer. There is a bathroom with bath, shower and loo with basin and a kitchen for cooking. There is a tumble dryer and washing machine.  There is a TV and DVD in the sitting room and a microwave, fridge freezer and dishwasher. The family are open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pet (but no large dogs or cats), however the work is just for one person
5 days a week, 7am - 7pm with regular breaks throughout the day. Two full days off each week which will depend on what needs to be done and the families schedule.  The working hours are set due to the family needing help in the morning and afternoon when the house is busy, but you'll have time off during the day, and the hours won't always be this long. The family are very flexible as to when your duties are performed (as long as the main duties are adhered to and family schedule respected).  
You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.
Special Skills
You must drive and ideally have your own car due to the countryside location of the property. (the family’s car can be used for work-related duties, but not in your spare time).
Interview/Start date