This vacancy is now closed

Full time Live in Housekeeper Sought for Stunning Country Property - United Kingdom

Housekeeper
Ref: 348 Date Posted: Thursday 19 Apr 2018
LinkedIn ShareShare
More

A down to earth family who live in the beautiful Hampshire countryside are looking for a new, long-term, live in housekeeper to join their family.  Due to the location you should hold a full driving licence.

Family Background
The family live in Hampshire on the boarder between Berkshire.  The father works full time with long hours in London, and the mother is very busy with her projects and diary.  They have three lovely children aged 13, 10 and 8 who attend a local private school, and they are independent and intelligent.   They have three dogs (2 Labs and a Daschund), chickens and outside cats.  The family bought the house 18 months ago which hadn't been touched for about 50 years, and spent the last 6 months doing up the coach house and pool complex which they move into in Jun.  The family will then be living in the coach house whilst the main house is renovated (finish to be expected around September).  The coach house is a three bedroom, with open plan living area over looking the pool area.  The main house they will move back into once it has been finished will be 7 bedrooms, but as there are only five of them living there, most of the bedrooms don't get used regularly. They have a gardener who comes to manage the grounds and the estates, and they currently have a long-term housekeeper, who is retiring, so they are now looking for a new, long-term housekeeper to be part of the family for many years to come.

Duties
You will be main focus will be care of the properties on the estate.  While the family are living in the coach house you'll be looking after this, and then when they move into the main house your focus will shift to the main family home.  You should be confident in your housekeeping, with proven experience and history working with bigger properties, and you should bring lots of skills and 'can-do' attitude.  The family are down to earth and expect someone to be flexible and helpful, as when the family do spend time together it is precious and they need you to give them the support to ensure that the property and animals are well cared for.  Occasionally you might be asked to keep an eye on the children if the mum is popping out and the children are home, but you won't be focused on the children.  You should have a passion for keeping house, thinking on your feet.  The mother is very organised and will present 6 month schedules, so any routines are clearly defined in advance.  You'll also then know when the family plan to travel so you can remain at the property and care for the animals whilst they are away. This will allow you to be organised and plan your duties according to this.  There might be occasional cooking but only if the mum is stuck with another engagement (as she loves to cook) and then you'll be preparing simple, easy food for the children and family.

Location/Accommodation
On the family grounds is a lodge which consists of a one bedroom and two bedroom apartment.  You'll be given one of these apartments which is completely private and yours to live in.  With own entrance, bathroom, bedroom(s), kitchen etc.  They are beautifully furnished.

Days/Hours
5 days a week with two days off each week.  Each working day will be 10 hours.  You will be working one weekend day a week, but these will be clearly defined in advance.  The family do require flexibility to give them the support they require.

Languages
You must speak a good level of English.

Special Skills
You must be able to drive due to the location of the property - if you do not have a car, you can be provided with one.

Package Offered

  • The family will pay very well for the right candidate from £300-700net a week - £20-50K gross per year
  • Separate accommodation
  • Car if required.

Interview/Start date
ASAP