This vacancy is now closed

Domestic Couple Sought for Family of 3 in Pangbourne - Berkshire

Domestic Couple
Ref: 182 Date Posted: Monday 15 May 2017
Linkedin shareMore

A British family of three living in West Berkshire (between Reading and Newbury) are looking for a domestic couple to join their family home and life.

Family Background

A family of three, mother father, 1 children aged 3, with one dogs (Labrador mix), 2 hamsters(!).  They live in the beautiful country of West Berkshire.  They lead a busy life, with the father working long hours and the mother at home, but busy with her personal projects.  The little girl is due to start part time nursery in September, and then will attend full time school the following year.  The house has 3 bedrooms and is situated on 7 acres of land.  The family currently have a full time nanny, housekeeper and gardener, but are looking to combine the roles into a domestic couple role.


Can be shared accordingly to skills.  But typically they will be split between the couple.


For one person: Housekeeping.  There will be two days of 5-6 hours of housekeeping to get the house spick and span (normally a Monday and Thursday).  During the times that you are housekeeping if the little girl is at home, then the other person will be going to the farm, park or taking her to playgroup.  On the other days you will be in charge of the little girl, helping play with her, stimulate her and having fun with her.  Your main focus outside of the housekeeping is to care and help the little girl grow and develop. You should therefore love children.


For one person: It is essential that you are a keen and able gardener. This really involves mowing, pruning, weeding, land maintenance, managing tools (chainsaw/sit on lawn mowers etc). If you have specialist land skills such as tree maintenance this would be highly desired.  It is also essential that you are a good, confident and experienced driver. You should also be happy to cook lunch and dinner for the family (whenever required).  The husband works very long hours so typically you'll just be cooking for the mother and little girl.  You should also be child friendly and happy to care for the little girl during the week if required by the schedule.



A purpose build seperate annex in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. It was purpose built 2 years ago. There is a double bed, sofa, TV (with sky), kitchen and en suite.  With wifi and done out to a high level.  It is a studio annex, so you should be comfortable in this space.  It is not suitable for domestic couples with young children, however the family are open to consider small pets (either cats or dogs).  The property is situated in Pangbourne, West Berkshire.  


5 days a week with a 50 hour week (for each person).  Two full days off each week which will depend on what needs to be done each week but will be the same for both of you so you can enjoy time in the countryside and England together.  


You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.  The family are also very keen on Spanish speaking as the father speaks Spanish, so this would be a bonus if one or both of you speaks Spanish.

Special Skills

At least one of you must drive to the locality of the property in the countryside.  You will need to have a clean and up to date DBS (criminal background check) and we can help with this when you apply if the family are keen to trial/hire you.

Package Offered

  • £25K-30K (combined salary) for a 50 hour working week.
  • Full employed and tax paid with contract.
  • Seperate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished
  • All electricity, council tax bills, water bills, heating and WiFi included.  
  • Full use of car (manual) plus insurance and petrol covered.
  • Paid holidays of 4 weeks per year.  
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate will be agreed.
  • Open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pet (but no large dogs or cats)

Interview/Start date