Domestic Couple Sought for Beautiful Family Home Near Basingstoke - United Kingdom

Domestic Couple
Ref: 330 Date Posted: Tuesday 13 Mar 2018
Linkedin shareMore

A British family of four living near Basingstoke, Hampshire are looking for a domestic couple to join their family home and life.  You should both hold a full driving licence.

Family Background

A family of five, mother father, 2 children aged 16, 13 and 12 (all at boarding school), with two dogs (one Labradoodle and a working Cocker Spaniel).  They live in the beautiful country of Hampshire, 15 minutes away from Basingstoke.  They lead a busy life, with the father working long hours and the mother at working from home, but she is currently setting up a local shop.  The three children attend a full time private boarding school.  The house has 6 bedrooms and is situated on beautiful gardens, with a swimming pool, tennis court and various outbuildings.   They have a lovely swimming pool which is used by the family and any staff working for the family.  The family travel during the school holidays, and have a busy social schedule at the weekends, however the mother is very organised and everything is planned well in advance.  The family had a long term domestic couple who worked for them for the last 4 and a half years, but due to a natural evolution, they are moving on.  The family are now looking for a long-term couple to work for them.  


Can be shared accordingly to skills.  But typically they will be split between the couple.


For one person: When the children are at home during the holidays there will be housework to do - washing, cleaning the house and ironing. If they have friends for dinner which only happens every few months then there will be tidying up and washing up. There is never really any babysitting, but if the parents were to pop out, they would like to know someone is around to keep an eye on the 12 year old (during the holidays only and agreed in advance).  You must love animals and be happy to walk the dogs. If the family travel (only occasionally in the holidays) then you should be flexible to help keep an eye on the dogs, and in return you'll have time off in lieu.  During term time when the children are not in residence, you'll have less hours working in the house (as there won't be as much housework), so you'd need to be flexible to help be an extra pair of hands for the mum, helping out with her local shop, running errands etc.


For one person: It is essential that you are a keen and able gardener. This really involves mowing, pruning, weeding, planting vegetables outside in the spring and in a greenhouse. In the summer months this where the majority of your time will be spent. In the winter months there will some maintenance around the house, gardening and driving duties. It is also essential that you are a good, confident and experienced driver. Occasionally you may need to drive the family, or pick up from the airport etc. Finally there will be walking the dogs on some days but the countryside is lovely around the family so will be hopefully a pleasure.  If the family travel (only occasionally in the holidays) then you should be flexible to help keep an eye on the dogs, and in return you'll have time off in lieu.


A purpose build seperate barn conversion in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. Your house in the garden is really lovely. The bedroom is big, with a double bed, wardrobe and chest of drawers with a computer, TV and DVD. There is Wifi for the computer. There is a bathroom with bath, shower and loo with basin and a kitchen for cooking. There is a TV and DVD in the sitting room and a microwave, fridge freezer and dishwasher.


5 days a week with a 30 hour week per person.  Two full days off each week which will depend on what needs to be done each week but will be the same for both of you so you can enjoy time in the countryside and England together.  

Due to this only being a part time role, you will have many extra hours to work for other local families, both in gardening and housework.  The family are very well connected and can introduce you to a number of local families who you can work for alongside your main family duties.

The family are very flexible as to when your duties are performed (as long as the main duties are adhered to and family schedule respected).  For example if you wish to work 8am-2pm or 12-6pm each day - the family are very easy going with this.  The holidays are naturally more busy when the three children return from boarding school, but during the term time, the family live in the residence alone.


You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.

Special Skills

At least one of you must drive to the locality of the property in the countryside.

Package Offered

  • A combined salary of £25,800gross per year is offered (£400net per week).  There may be a small amount of wiggle room on this, but you should be comfortable around this figure.
  • Full employed and tax paid with contract.
  • Seperate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished
  • All electricity, council tax bills, water bills, heating and WiFi included.  
  • Full use of car plus insurance and petrol covered (manual).
  • Paid holidays of 4 weeks per year.  
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate or time off in lieu.
  • Open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pet (but no cats as the family are allergic to them)

Interview/Start date