This vacancy is now closed

Domestic Couple Sought for Beautiful Family Estate in Newbury - United Kingdom

Domestic Couple
Ref: 245 Date Posted: Friday 02 Feb 2018
Share
More

A British family of living in West Berkshire (near Newbury) are looking for a domestic couple to join their family home and life.

Family Background

The wife and husband principals live alone at their family home, with two Cocker-poo dogs.  They have adult children who have all left the family home but do of course visit occasionally. They live in a stunning part of the world, and have a beautiful 8 bedroom home, with a seperate 2 bedroom cottage and other outbuildings on their 50 acre estate.  They currently have a full time gardener who tends the land maintenance.  They have employed domestic couples for many years, with the first couple staying 7 years and the previous couple staying almost 4.  They are now looking for a new couple to work for their family in a long term placement.  They are open to all nationalities and backgrounds, the most important thing for this family is that the couple are flexible, hard working and want to stay long term.

During the week the couple typically live in London at their second property and leave on Monday and return on Thursday or Friday.  They do require flexibility and will take you with then to their properties overseas quite often and you should be ready and willing to travel.  

Duties

Can be shared accordingly to skills.  But typically they will be split between the couple.

 

For one person: Managing and housekeeping of the home.  As the couple live alone there is rarely much to do in the extra bedrooms apart from keeping them fresh and dust free.  Outside of that you'll be doing all the laundry, hoovering and mopping and keeping the house in top condition.  There is also cooking duties for when the couple are in residence and you'll be cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner when the couple are at home. On the days they are in town then you will not have to cook for them.  You should be pet friendly and should have a full driving licence.

 

For one person: Although the family have a full time gardener, they would like this person to have some gardening skills in order to do some weeding, light gardening and chopping logs.  You should also be a confident driver and willing to do do driving duties, run errands and shopping or drive the couple to any engagements they might have.  You should be pet friendly, willing to walk and care the dogs, and if you want to help with housekeeping or cooking then this is also fine!  You should be happy to manage basic admin around the house, taking telephone calls and doing any paperwork if required by the principals.

Location/Accommodation

A purpose build seperate house in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. Your house in the garden is really lovely and is a 1 minute walk from the main property. The bedroom is big, with a double bed, wardrobe and chest of drawers and fully furnished. There is Wifi for the computer. There is a bathroom with bath, shower and loo with basin and a kitchen for cooking. There is a tumble dryer and washing machine.  This has two bedrooms and is a delightful space to live in.

Days/Hours

5 day working week.  Due to the family spending most of their time in London, you will have two days off each week but these are typically taken on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Then you would work Thursday through to Monday.  On the days the family are not in residence you will work from 8:30am-5pm and the days that the family are in residence you will take a longer afternoon break and then help with dinner and tidy up in the evening. When overseas your schedule and hours might change according to the needs of the family.

Languages

You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.

Special Skills

Both of you must hold a full driving licence and you will be provided a staff car (manual).

Package Offered

  • £350-400net per person (£22-26K per person)
  • Full employed and tax paid with contract.
  • Separate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished
  • All electricity, council tax bills, water bills, heating and WiFi included.  
  • Full use of car plus insurance and petrol covered.
  • Paid holidays of 4 weeks per year.  
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate will be agreed.
  • Open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pets, but bear in mind the two family dogs roam freely!

Interview/Start date

Ideally the family want the couple to start in March (taking into account time for trials/interviews) but they can be extremely flexible for the right person.