This vacancy is no longer advertised

Domestic Couple Sought For Beautiful Country Property and Family in Bucklebury - Berkshire

Domestic Couple
Ref: 178 Date Posted: Thursday 29 Jun 2017
More

A British family of four living in West Berkshire (between Reading and Newbury) are looking for a domestic couple to join their family home and life.

Family Background

A family of four, mother father, 2 children aged 9 and 10, with three dogs (one Labrador and two miniature Daschunds), two guinea pigs and some fish.  They live in the beautiful country of West Berkshire.  They lead a busy life, with the father working long hours and the mother at home, but busy with her personal projects.  The two children attend a full time private school.  The house has 5 bedrooms and is situated on 9 acres of land (with a large field being part of the acres).  They have a lovely swimming pool which is used by the family and any staff working for the family.  The family travel during the school holidays, and have a busy social schedule at the weekends.  The family had a full time live in housekeeper who worked for them for the last 8 years, but due to family circumstances changing she has decided to move on, and the family are looking to create a combi-role for a domestic couple.  Combining the land maintenance with the house.

Duties

Can be shared accordingly to skills.  But typically they will be split between the couple.

 

For one person: When the children are at school there will be housework to do - washing, cleaning the house and ironing. There are two Guinea pigs to clean out when needed and two goldfish whose tank will need cleaning from time to time. If they have friends for dinner which only happens every few months then there will be tidying up and washing up. There is also babysitting for up to two nights a week which will normally be a Friday or Saturday.

 

For one person: It is essential that you are a keen and able gardener. This really involves mowing, pruning, weeding, planting vegetables outside in the spring and in a greenhouse. It is also essential that you are a good, confident and experienced driver. Occasionally you may need to drive the children to school. You will be asked to drive us to dinners and then pick up after. This will generally be a Friday or a Saturday but rarely both. Finally there will be walking the dogs on some days but the countryside is lovely around the family so will be hopefully a pleasure.

 

Location/Accommodation

A purpose build seperate house in the grounds with its own entrance is your private residence. Your house in the garden is really lovely. It was only built last year.  The bedroom is big, with a double bed, wardrobe and chest of drawers with a computer, TV and DVD. There is Wifi for the computer. There is a bathroom with bath, shower and loo with basin and a kitchen for cooking. There is a tumble dryer and washing machine.  There is a TV and DVD in the sitting room and a microwave, fridge freezer and dishwasher.

Days/Hours

5 days a week with a 30/35 hour week per person.  Two full days off each week which will depend on what needs to be done each week but will be the same for both of you so you can enjoy time in the countryside and England together.  

Due to this only being a part time role, you will have many extra hours to work for other local families, both in gardening and housework.  The family are very well connected and can introduce you to a number of local families who you can work for alongside your main family duties.

The family are very flexible as to when your duties are performed (as long as the main duties are adhered to and family schedule respected).  

Languages

You must speak a good level of English to communicate with the family.

Special Skills

At least one of you must drive to the locality of the property in the countryside.

Package Offered

  • £22K-30K (combined salary) for a 30 hour working week. 
  • Full employed and tax paid with contract.
  • Seperate house (on grounds), private entrance, newly built and fully furnished
  • All electricity, council tax bills, water bills, heating and WiFi included.  
  • Full use of car plus insurance and petrol covered.
  • Paid holidays of 4 weeks per year.  
  • If extra hours are worked each week then an overtime rate will be agreed.
  • Open to accepting a couple with a small dog or small pet (but no large dogs or cats)

Interview/Start date

ASAP